Melting Ice


Melting Ice

Last week we had over a foot of snow dumped on us in the Chicago area. Yesterday it began to melt. Alex was upstairs playing when suddenly I heard a loud crash from above followed by 2 or 3 other thuds and crashes. My heart sank as I waited to hear a scream following the crashes…but just silence was heard. I dashed up the stairs yelling for Alex. He appeared at the bedroom doorway. When I asked him what had happened he looked at me in a way I knew he had no idea what I was talking about. It then occurred to me that ice must have slid off the roof. Sure enough, 2 big chucks of ice lay on the back patio.
My heart was still racing and I think a few hairs had turned gray when I heard that loud crash. It is hard to believe that I can care so much for a little boy that just 2 years ago wasn’t even here…just a picture on our refrigerator. I remember the first month Tania & Alex were with us and what a whirlwind of activity it was. I felt like a care giver of 2 children I didn’t know and couldn’t speak to. Now, I hear ‘Mom!” dozens of times a day from them and I never get tired of it.
They are great kids and were meant to be in our family. Sometimes a crash of ice jolts our memories of earlier times but the relief of knowing things are ok today is what keeps us going.
www.everythingforadoption.com

Leave a Reply

