Is this the same kid?


I know that I write more about Alex than any of my other kids…but once kids hit the teenage years they just don’t do many ‘cute’ things anymore.  And that is a FACT.  I know I told you that Alex had a rough time last week by being overstimulated by a substitute teacher who let his class go ‘wild’.  However, I want you to know that things did improve throughout the week…and that Alex is really a very cute kid with a bubbling personality…most of the time.

Case in point…When Tania & I went to FL for 4 days last month Alex did a very nice thing for me.  He works hard at school and earns points to buy things out of the treasure chest at the end of the week.  That week he took his points and ‘bought’ me a necklace and earrings out of that box.  (Really not as bad looking as you might expect coming from a treasure box in a 2nd grade room!…lol)  He said he missed me.  When I put them on he just beamed and then added….”Wow, Mom, you just look beautiful!”

Now, isn’t that cute?  None of my other kids send compliments my way any more so I’ll take what I can get right now!

So…I have to remember when he is having a melt-down that it is probably ‘orphanage related’ and that I have to learn how to get him back to our level of control.  Those first five years can have a huge impact on a kids’ life!

Until next time…

Deborah Mumm, The Adoption Coach, http://www.everythingforadoption.com/adoption-highway-system.asp 

Sunshine

Leave a Reply

