Hey Dude…I Love You!


Alex in a tree

Alex in a tree

We adopted Alex from Russia when he was 5.  He just turned 10 recently.  Physically, he is the size of a 7 or 8 yr. old and he is still behind in school but doing amazingly well this year!  The one thing people love about Alex is his enthusiasm.  He loves people and things with his whole heart and he lets you know it.

When Alex came into our lives our sons were 21, 19 and 14 yrs. old.  None of them were ready for this boy with endless energy and love for them.  5 yrs. later he still insists on hugs and kisses before bed from whoever is home at the time.  My older boys resisted this for awhile but I notice now they give into the kisses now and even return the affection, much to the joy of Alex.

However, last week Alex had a friend over and when it was time for him to leave Alex ran over and gave him a big hug.  Peter, 9, stiffened up and said, “Alex! Don’t!”  I took Alex aside and told him that sometimes as boys get older they don’t like to be hugged by their friends so much anymore.  At that point, Alex opened the door for Peter as he left.  Then he yelled out after him, “Hey dude, I love you!”  Peter, looked somewhat embarrassed and ran off.

At that point I just had to look down at my little guy with a big heart and sigh.  I know the day will come when he won’t say what he feels anymore and I’m really going to miss it!

Deborah Mumm, The Adoption Coach

Everything for Adoption

One response to this post.

  1. I’ve been a birthmother for more than 40 years now, and it doesn’t matter in the least how somebody refers to me. it’s just a label, after all, and doesn’t define who or what I am. It’s far more important to me to be treated with respect and understanding, and for others to recognize that giving up my son was the single hardest thing I ever did in my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

