When Your Kid is at College


Mom's Weekend 2010

Greetings!

This past weekend was the traditional Mom’s Weekend at Mizzou (Univ. of MO) for my son’s fraternity, FarmHouse. (And, yes, there is a legitimate Greek fraternity called Farmhouse.) They have a great house with guys I really like. I know why my son, Kellen, loves going to school here. He has terrific friends, most he calls ‘his brothers’. It also has a wonderful business school….5th in the nation. But let me get to the point.
As a mom, it is hard to say goodbye to your kids when they head off to college. Don’t get me wrong. I love seeing them grow up and become confident enough to go away to school. I just love my kids and miss them when they are gone. Kellen chose Mizzou and it is a long drive…about 8 hours. So, he doesn’t come home unless he has a long period of time to be home. He has decided to work over Spring Break and then is hoping to get an internship there in Columbia for the summer. So, it doesn’t look like he’s coming home anytime soon. It made it hard for me to say good bye to him this weekend.
We had a lot of fun though. We went to a Comedy Club. We had a nice Sat. brunch followed by a trip to a local winery. We then played board games with his frat brothers, some girlfriends and another mom. We laughed and talked a lot. It was a terrific way to bond with my college kid…who I don’t get to see that much of, even when he’s home. I loved it. The weekend flew by and soon I was saying goodbye and driving home alone again.
So, my suggestion to all you mom’s who have kids college age….enjoy the moments you have with them when you can. It is amazing to think that when your kids are small you think they will be young forever. Then, suddenly, they are graduating from High School and heading off to college. Life is never the same with them again after this. I love my grown up boys and they are wonderful to spend time with…I just don’t get to have that time too often anymore.
It’s actually hard on my youngest, Alex, almost 11. He adores his big brothers. He is especially close to Kellen. So, it killed me when I called home several times this past weekend to talk with Alex. He wanted to be spending time with his brother so at the end of each call he’d say in his little voice, “Mom, be sure and tell Kellen I love him.” This always made my eyes well up with emotion. I wish I could be stronger when with my kids sometimes! Sheesh….
I know I love being a mom…why else would I take on two more kids through adoption? But it by far the hardest, yet most rewarding job I will ever have.

Deborah Mumm, The Adoption Coach
http://www.everythingforadoption.com
http://www.adoptionhighway.com

3 responses to this post.

  1. It’s good to know that there are some teenagers who still wants to finish their college. I wish all the best for your son and may he achieve all his goals in life.

    Reply

    • I have been very fortunate. He is my 3rd son to attend college and he is very serious about graduating. I have one that has graduated college and the other very close to graduation. My daughter may be a different story….time will tell! Thanks for the note.

      Reply

  2. Hey Deborah! My name is Brett Walker. I am from Stanberry, the same place where Cody is from. I was bored doing some laundry, so I googled “FarmHouse Mizzou” and stumbled upon this article. Oddly enough I see your son, my roommate, on the front page. Just thought I would take a moment compliment you on your son. He is a stand-up guy and a mentor to me. I don’t know if I have ever seen Kellan have a bad day. He sure knows how to humor the room. Hopefully I will see you soon, probably for Mom’s weekend in the upcoming spring semester! Take Care,

    Brett

    Reply

Leave a Reply

